Total Newbie Needing Help

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swillia9

So this is the place I keep getting referred to on my journey. I would like to try my hand at scraping stuff for precious metals, but am clueless as to what I should be getting, where to get it, identifying right stuff, getting things like those tiny capacitors and things, the inlaid gold in circuit boards, how to refine to get my gold and thus my money, etc.

I've looked at some of the stuff in the forum, but there is soooo much that I am overwhelmed and lost at where to begin.

There is no simple way to help you with such a vague/broad question.

Read the safety section, download C.M. Hoke's book ( from the book section ) and read it thoroughly, and search key words that come to mind using the search function.

Also here is a link to lasersteve's guided tour.

http://goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?p=6873#6873

Welcome to the forum and be safe.

Welcome to the forum.
You've been given good advice and links to point you in the right direction but I will add you need to identify the materials you intend to work with, what have you got, what can you get, what quantities and at what cost if any. For e scrap the best price is free or as close to that as possible as very little precious metals is used in the majority of it, there are rare exceptions, and the money is in the base metals to cover costs with the PMs been a bonus, if but a small one.
There are many many types of value bearing materials so try to pick a few to start and see what's available and the processes needed to recover and refine them, it's all here on the forum but you have to do the leg work and read and study if your dream to refine is to come true, it's not easy and it takes dedication but it's entirely possible from just studying here.
Good luck