Troubleshooting Shor Products

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the_photon

Sirs,

I am a chemist attempting to do a little hobbyist gold recovery -- although I must admit that I'm certainly not an inorganic chemist, and I'm working with extremely limited equipment in my back yard -- no access to a lab or any of my ordinary methods of troubleshooting for this project.

I am having a few problems with the Shor international kit. I have already read on here, as well as agree that Shor's instructions are rather oversimplified and misleading in many places, and that all of their chemicals are available elsewhere. However, given that I already have two complete kits of theirs (given to me, thankfully didn't have to pay), I'd like to use them if at all possible rather than go out and buy a whole lot of chemicals.

As per the Shor instructions, I added 1 lb (the entire bag) of Sub-Zero (which I suspect is simply sodium nitrate) to 1 gallon of muriatic acid. My source of scrap is several hundred slips of gold on what looks like polyethylene terepthalate plastic film -- electronics scrap from an R&D firm circa 1990. I suspect that each slip of film has about 0.0175 oz of gold on them, according to a variety of quantitative estimates that I have done, and I inserted 25 of them into the Aqua Regia that I concocted as above.

The gold on the plastic film strips turned rather dark blue. To the best of my knowledge (no pH meter in my back yard), I have neutralized most of the nitric acid with the Urea, and filtered out all solids resulting in about 3/4 of a gallon of extremely dark blue solution.