Undissolved Mystery Metal in AR

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbarney522

I'm a newbie but I've been researching PM refining for about two years. I started refining about a month ago using AR. So far, so good. I'm stumped, however, by one of my batches. There is a thick layer of blackish/gray silt at the bottom that will not go into AR solution. It's about a half-inch thick, and 3 inches in diameter, so it's a substantial amount if it's PM. The gold was electrostripped from 25 lbs of gold-plated metalware, and I'm assuming that there was a mix of copper, stainless steel, zinc and nickel in the stripped feed stock. I used 32% HCl as step 1 to eat away zinc, nickel and stainless steel, and then nitric to eat away the copper. I then filtered and dried the precipitate and placed it into AR. No reaction. I tried stirring it, letting it sit in the sun all day to warm up (South Florida), and after 5 days, nothing. What could this be? I was thinking that it might be carbon, given that stainless steel has a very small percentage (<0.5%) of carbon. But this silt looks grayer than I would expect carbon to look like.

Try warming your AR, it might help. Chromium sometimes gets passivated, and even if your platinum group metals are alloyed with base metals they may need to be heated in AR to get them to dissolve.

cbarney522 said:
I used 32% HCl as step 1 to eat away zinc, nickel and stainless steel, and then nitric to eat away the copper. I then filtered and dried the precipitate and placed it into AR. No reaction.

I would say if you had gold from your cell slimes, you dissolved it before it ever made it to AR. Did you incinerate your powders in between your HCl wash and Nitric wash, otherwise you dissolved your gold during the nitric bath.

Have you tested any of your solutions with Stannous?