Want to look like a professional

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

no1special

The jewler that i have been selling my gold to has been so impressed that he asked me to leave my number so that he could recommend me so the people who ask him about refining. I am far from a expert, but when he used his test kit on the finished balls of gold that I (with the knowlege and assistance I got here on this very site... thank you all) recovered and refined from escrap, didnt react at all when he applied his 22k acid which was as high as he could test. Today I got a call from a person whom he referred to me and will be coming by tomorrow with gold flakes that they unearthed while digging a swimming pool. My jewler told me that when he applied his 22k acid to some of it that while it did have a slight reaction that it basicly just burned off a small amount of impurities and then left some pretty yellow stable streaks on his stone. When i asked how much we were talking about the guy told me that he had 64oz pickle gar 3/4 full of these flakes that he is bringing by in the morning for me to check out and possibly refine for him. I am planning on testing a small amount with the little bit of one pot nitric that i made, and then showing him a small scale example of making auoric clorine and precipitating back with smb. My questions are: How much would be a fair price to charge for this (I live in SE MO) and while I am not trying to rip the guy off, I dont intend to do any charity work either. I was thinking of asking for 10% but want a honest opinion on wheither that is fair, too high, or too low. And also will hcl/clorox be able to dissolve these flakes, or should i use AR. I fouled up on AR back on my first attempt refining (but that was before I found this site or even heard of Hoke) and am fairly confident that I can get some mud in the bottom of my jar now.