What brand of drain opener is sulfuric acid?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hey Danny,
if a drain cleaner contains sulfuric acid,it will be listed on the label,however almost all of them contain "buffers".Jim is right though Rooto is the one steve recommended and Ive been using it for a couple of years with no problem,Ace hardware usually carries it,if not Im sure they can order it.Its about $15 1/2 gallon.However if you want to save some money and you dont mind a little extra work,some auto parts stores(not autozone or advanced auto)carry battery acid 30%-32% thats just watered down sulfuric.If you boil it down about 1/3rd then you'd be around the 90% mark.And its ALOT cheaper.But remember it takes a lot of time and you'll end up spending out for the heat to boil it down,thats why I just buy the rooto.
Johnny

Battery acid needs to be boiled down to 1/3 of it original; volume before use as concentrated acid.

Steve

I'm working up to the strong stuff.

Did a batch sat. with dilute acid like you buy it. Most of my Sodium nitrate didn't disolve even bringing the temp up to 150F for a little bit.

I have another batch on tonight at 160F-170F letting the heat work it's majic.

Next I will concentrate the acid and make another batch.

Even the dilute stuff that didn't disolve well worked pretty good for disolving some jewlery I had.

I did a little shoping at some local hardware stores today. Didn't want to start a new thread, so I thought I should ask here.

The only drain opener in town is called S-T Drain Opener by Santeen. It is only 85% sulfuric acid and it also contains an inhibitor(?). Would this product be suitable for making nitric acid? Or should I try another town?

Here is the MSDS for Santeen-
http://www.santeen.com/drain/drain_opener_msds.html