what % of Urea is needed to stop aqua regia reaction

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billiam888

Hello, I am a newbie just joined your forum last night. I've been stumbling around the site trying to get to know the ins and outs. I hope I am posting this question in the right place. I have some plant food that's 20.5 % Urea. It is derived from Urea, ammoniam phosphates, and Urea phosphates. The other things in it are, muriate of pot ash, boric acid, copper sulfate, iorn EDTA, manganese EDTA, sodium molybdate, zink sulfate, and chlorine (C) Max. 12 %. Can anybody tell me if this is OK to use to stop the reaction of aqua regia.

billiam888 said:
Hello, I am a newbie just joined your forum last night. I've been stumbling around the site trying to get to know the ins and outs. I hope I am posting this question in the right place. I have some plant food that's 20.5 % Urea. It is derived from Urea, ammoniam phosphates, and Urea phosphates. The other things in it are, muriate of pot ash, boric acid, copper sulfate, iorn EDTA, manganese EDTA, sodium molybdate, zink sulfate, and chlorine (C) Max. 12 %. Can anybody tell me if this is OK to use to stop the reaction of aqua regia.

Hi Billiam , The short answer is dont use Urea ( in refining ) it is however great fro your lawn
welcome to the forum I would suggest that you start reading CM Hokes book , you can find a link in my signature where you can download the book for free.
next you should read the safety section of the forum.

after you have read the safety part , you should learn how to use the search function. Type in Urea and you will find lots of post about the use and why not to use Urea
Personal I prefer to evaporate the excess nitric and not put extra stuff in my AR

regards squarecoinman