What the heck is this?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leavemealone

Most of you that know me,know I've been processing for a few years.I just started processing pins less than a year ago,so I know I haven't seen everything.Well one of those things revealed itself tonight.It looks like it could be precipitated silver or salt.Let me explain what happened then maybe it will help answer what it is.I bought some used pins on ebay.I have never seen pins exactly like this before,which is no big surprise,given the thousands of different kinds of pins out there.I put them in my 4000ml erlenmeyer and added about 2500ml of muratic.This is my favorite way to process pins,concidering I have had a lot of problems with adding peroxide in the past,I tend to get too impatient and add too much,losing my gold in solution.So I put the flask on the hotplate last night.This morning,it was lightly boiling,which is normal,but the solution was almost perfectly clear.Thats the first wierd part.Normally after one night,you cant see 1 inch into the solution it is so saturated with copper.Then I noticed the pins were jet black.So I turned off the hot plate while we were out today.When I started to diagnose the problem tonight I noticed what appears to be thousands of tiny white "hairs" on the pins and the solution is still clear.They are crystalized and about 1/4 inch long.I assume it is silver,but I don't dare act on it until I get a diagnosis from the doctor....lol.So here ya go guys,start diagnosing.
Thanks
Johnny

Attachments

• DSCI0545.JPG
    DSCI0545.JPG
    127.9 KB
  • DSCI0547.JPG
    DSCI0547.JPG
    139.4 KB
There's a possible Beryllium hazard with hard copper, sping loaded connectors. Be careful to not breath any dust from the residue.

semi

leavemealone said:
and added about 2500ml of muratic.