where did my gold go???

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snowfrmee2day

Hi all.

I'm new to this and I had 3+oz of red mud with about 20% gold plate (that came from Escrap) that tuned in to a 5gram silvery button when I melted it. now I thought the gold was in the "flux=borax+lite salt+lite baking soda", but I worked the flux in the furnace and I got a lot of silvery metal back then nitric acid, then melted the resulting black powder again got a 5ish G button of silvery metal
I'm very flustered I have over 1000$ in this and am going no where but broke and I'm at the end of my rope with this.

I started with removing the plate form lots of boards and 8oz metal pins(from very old milatary scrap board) that when I melted 3grams it tested to ten K.

Is there a chance that the gold fumed off into the air and left me with worthless button of base metal or is it in the solution still???

where is the gold? please tell me its not lost...

please help I'm desperate.

Sounds like a bunch of contaminets in your button. Flatten it out with a hammer and an anvil if you have one to very thin metal and run it in a batch of nitric and the redissolve it and see what you end up with. What ever the nitric dosent dissolve should be your PM's.

I dont have any of that. I did all the steps and melted the resulting mass of metal slat witch should of been mostly gold...

ok BR007 Ive don that 2times now and Im still geting the same crap. what I want to know is DID IT BURN OFF if its still in solution I will try som more other wise I am going to throw in the towl Its been 6months now I've had about 5oz+ go through to end up with a 2.gram button Im in deep and there Is noting to show for it so here I am can any one help????

DID IT BURN OFF??????????????????????????
is it possible that's what happened?????????????????

It is unlikely that you vaporized your gold off.