where to start with silver coins

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

I have 12 pounds of (90%) silver coins i am new at this and would like to know where to start.

9 times out of 10 your coins will be worth more unrefined. As a coin you can prove their content, once dissolved it is anyone’s guess. Unless you have a specific objective like Noxx asked, sell them as is.

what kind of coins are they? i am a coin collector and can tell you if they are anything more as a coin or just worth the silver content.

they are "mercury dimes" a few morgans some quarters and halves none of them are very valueable a shop told me he would only give $8.00on evry dollar = not very much but when you do the math on the amount of silver at 90% of 12 LBS. not a fair swap my intentions are to make silver bars (1 oz. bars) where then the shop said he would pay 10 to 12 an oz. depending on the market at the time.

Unless they are marked bars from a known refiner an assay will be required. Your buyer likely will not pay that price for bars you made. Kitco is paying $8.65 per dollar face value. Your buyers offer is pretty fair, they have to make a little as well. You will not gain anything by adding to your costs.

I may be interested in buying some from you, if thats OK with you. I'll offer for the mercs, and 11x face for the morgans.
It would save you a lot of time.
Taylor

Unless you need cash now they are a good investment even in just the silver value. Many use these as a hedge against inflation as their purity is known. They are typically sold for spot price of the silver they contain to silver investers by the bag. In addition silver has little room to go down in value right now but there is a good deal of room for it to go up.

GSP summed it up “What ever you do, don't refine them”.