Working with AR

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

margsu

Hi everybody. This is my first try to dissolve basemetals with gold. I made AR as 1 part HNO3 60% and 4 part HCL 33% . At the moment seems that HCL will and before HNO3 and reaction will continue with HNO3 only. I think that If I take one part 60% HNO3 then I must take at least 6 part HCL 33%.

After trying AR solution I must wash powder. Can I wash it with HNO3 or I must use hot HCL only? In my country is HNO3 cheap as HCL.

I edited the title "Playing with AR" because it is not something that should be "played" with; we have some younger members of this forum and I don't want to have them with the mis-impression that this highly corrosive mixture is something meant for play! Lead by example! and thanks for your understanding, Lou

If you can get HNO3. You should make things easy on yourself and dissolve the base metals first with 50/50 HNO3 and water before you use AR.

Solutions free of base metals are much nicer to work with.

First of all I want to say that you're lucky that you can get nitric for the same price as HCL in your country and I hate you(just kidding). You can use either acid to do your washes as long as your absolutely sure the other acid isnt present or you will lose gold. I would say nitric is better for your washes because it will also get rid of silver if present. But like qst42know said, dont use AR right away unless you have 18k(solid) gold or higher. Im guessing most of us on the forum do HNO3, AR, AR, HCL to refine all of our beautiful buttons and ingots. :p

goldenchild said: