486's Where's the GOLD?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cytek

Interesting, a new experiment with twelve 486's CPU"s , I opened the lids and added them to the AP mix. Only used HCL and peroxide. Let them set in a bucket for three days, mix periodically.

All pins are gone, dissolved and gold flake visible, but where did the gold go from the pins? Still in the AP mix? See both pics. 1 is the 12 CPUs and ther other the filtered AP and chips.

I haven't added the pins and flake to a nictric mix yet.

Cytek

You can use SMB to push it out of AP. 12 cpu's won't yield very much gold.
I hope somone more knowledgable than myself can comment on this because I am having the same problem with cpus in AP.

Thanks Skyline, i'm new to refining , i find it very interesting. I remember Steve saying that there was .33g in the 486's. I'll post what the yield is on the 12.
I know Steve said to take the spent CPU's and add them to a batch of Nitric to get the rest of the gold out.

cytek

your right Skyline it was the pentium pro's. So i am going out of town right now but when i get back i will test for gold in the hcl-H202 if it's in there i will precipitate with smb. You don't have to dissolve wiht HCL- CL because it looks like it's been dissolved. Will post back in two days.

This is my first experiment with CPU's, i have some pro's and some fiber cpu that need extraction i also have about 100 PII's, and PIII"s. Not sure there anything in the PIII's. They have a smal squre on the chip that is shinny and looks like platinum or palladium. Not sure which,

Cytek

"They have a smal squre on the chip that is shinny and looks like platinum or palladium. Not sure which"

It's neither. I would be happy to be proven wrong.

The tops are nickel plated copper.