Acid quantities and other tools of the trade.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MacMasterMike

What I need is some opinions on is the situation for buying acids. I can order from a chem house nitric acid at 4$ a gallon for 32% concentration which only comes in a 15 gallon stainless steel drum. The drum has a 200$ deposit which is a bummer but considering the price of the acid it isnt so bad. Having looked around online and seeing prices of different websites, which all seem to go for high quality regent market, and seeing how much they want for the small quantities has me in favor of the bulk buy. Now storing so much acid is a hazard of sorts but what do other hobbyists here do to store their acids? And should i avoid storage of such a quantity?

Now as if you couldn't tell I'm new to this hobby. In the next week or so I'm going to start with some silver(will post pics here if that ok not being gold). Hence why I'm really only asking about nitric acid at the moment. One regent I'm looking for that process is some lye or NaOH. Seems that the red devil consumer lye was the cat's meow when it came to the hobbyist needing a small cheap quantity. I have not scoured hardware stores in my area yet but is lye easy to find?

I was also curious about what people think about those "electronic gold testing stones" as featured at http://shorinternational.com/TestGold.htm .
Just curious about them is all. Thanks all for any response and is nice to see the community here already despite its recent start.

Hi, Mike. I've been trying to AIM you to find out why you are using the National Environmental Protection Act as your "location" in your profile.

Starting out trying to find out where we posters buy acids doesn't seem very friendly for a government stooge.

a man named Sue

Hello MacMasterMike and welcome !