am i going to perform aqua regia properly? please advise,

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mittens

im just learning at the moment really, i just want to make sure i know the full details before i go playing with different harmfull acids! haha,
i just have 2 more questions for you if you guys if you would help me first,

1 - will aqua regia be ok to recover gold from mobile phone curcit boards and computer fingers? (i mean tolally cleened of all the little chips etc, just the board itself) or will it disolve the full board and contaminate my gold?

2 - how do i know how quantity of aqua regia to make? (i know ts approx 4:1 ratio) but i mean some peope tell you to mix so many milliliters according to how much gold you will be recovering, but i dont have a clue how much gold is on any of my items to work it out?

i have a rough idea what im gunna do and how im going to do it;

- (im going to do my experiment outside in the open air, wear acording safty equipment etc)
- mix the aqua regia four parts hydrocloric acid to one part nitric acid in a large plastic bowl,
- add my items (e.g curcit boards, plated items, ceramic CPU's, etc, i wasent going to mix them, i was going to do them in seperate batches, or will that be ok to put them all in together?)
- leave them all over night
- in the morning, remove all old ceramic bits, old curcit boards etc then filter off my liquid into another plastic container,
- then add a spoon full of urea (to nutralise nitric acid) and repeat untill bubbiling reaction stops,
- then add spoon full (not sure of exact quantity needed) of ferrous sulphate and again, leave over night,
- then next morning check if theres any more gold present in the solution with a pricipitate, if theres none left in the liquid filter off the liquid then dry the powder and melt,
- job done?