can i...

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here's a stupid question
What have you used in the past?

As usual I take one process I learned that works
and don't even consider any other way(20 mule borax)

I guess I'm about to learn something
Steyr223 rob

yep 20 mule team is what i bought. this is my first time glazing a Melting dih and the first time ive ever used a melting dish. i cant wait to melt my first button :lol:

Use just enough to glaze the dish. Too much and you will have a puddle that the gold will stick to. Remove the gold bead as soon as it sets (turns back solid).

This is a porcelain crucible and won't be what you use with a torch, but if you will look at the surface of the crucible you will see the glazing and the light reflecting off of it. I heat the dish slowly with a torch at first so it doesn't crack and the while it's hot i rotate the dish sprinkling small amounts of borax over the surface evenly like you would add salt to your food. Then heat it to help spread and melt the borax. Use very small amounts and if you need to add more you can. Just don't over do it. All your looking for is a slick coating, nothing more.

http://goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/download/file.php?id=18063&mode=view

tnks palladium for the photo im going to glaze and melt my first batch of recovered Au tomorrow...... uhhm i know about using the stainless steel bowl with water to make shot but can any one give me pointers and tips so i dont kill myself by having a accident the stainless steel bowl ill be using is a wide rimmed 7 and a half inch deep bowl is this good enough os should i use something else. i ask this cause safety safety safety first is my main concern. also what would be a good utensil to use to handle my melting dish? I've seen people use vice grips but im afraid i might break my ceramic melting dish

Attachments

• melting dish.jpg