Converting PC Power supply for use with silver cell

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kadriver

I am not an electrician or computer expert. Please be very careful.

This info is for demonstration only. If done incorrectly, then you could get electricuted or cause a fire and burn your house down!

Here is the procedure that I used and got good results:

First, I removed a pc power supply from an old computerand check the panel on the side.

The one I have uses an orange wire for 3.3 volts - this will work for the silver cell voltage.

Attachments

• P1200555a.jpg
    P1200555a.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 1,654
Next, find the main plug. The one I have has 20 pins.

On this main connector there is a green wire.

cut this green wire, and any black (ground) wire.

I used the black wire right next to the green one.

Once both of these wire have been cut from the 20 pin connector, strip off some insulation to expose the ends of each wire - about 1/2 inch.

Then, join these two wires with a wire nut.

If you don't do this step, then the power supply will not energize when you plug it and turn it on.

Attachments

• P1200552a.jpg
    P1200552a.jpg
    791.4 KB · Views: 1,654
Try to find a power supply that has an on/off switch so you don't have to unplug it all the time to turn it off.

Attachments

• P1200554.JPG
    P1200554.JPG
    550.9 KB · Views: 1,652
Next, locate a DC outlet plug that has an ORANGE wire.

The orange wire is the one that will produce 3.3 volts.

Cut the orange wire and one of the black wires.

Strip the ends of each wire and install alligator clips.

I use a solid copper alligator clip to attach to the anode pole sticking out of the top of the anode basket.

The cheap nickle plate ones do not last long at all but can be used for the cathode connection.

Attachments

• P1200562a.jpg
    P1200562a.jpg
    197.3 KB · Views: 1,652