Does the AP solution have gold in it.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm no expert but from what I have read on the forum your AP can dissolve gold if you are using high strength (above 3%) hydrogen peroxide.
If you intend to reuse the AP the dissolved gold will precipitate because of the introduction of copper during future use, reuse by bubbling air through the solution whilst stripping future batches of fingers or pins.
If you dont intend on reusing your AP drop the values by cementing with copper or SMB, then process the precipitate with AC or AR

Thanks for your comment Butcher, as a newbie (eventhough I've been on the forum over a year now) it is encouraging to have your thoughts confirmed by one of the gurus on the forum. :D

Yes you can use SMB to precipitate any gold in your solution, then use the AC or AR process to refind the precipitate not the AP process as you stated, AP is used to strip gold plating not as a method of refining

If you have used SMB on the AP solution your precipitated gold will be contaminated with copper from the copper chloride in the solution.
You will need to re dissolve the precipitate with AC or AR and precipitate it again using SMB, you could dissolve your foils along with this ( the purity of the precipitate will be improved on the second precipitation because it will be precipitated from a cleaner solution) and then proceed to melting into shot or button.

If i add smb to my ap, how can I see the brown settle to the bottom. The liquid is a dark green color. What do I do to get the precipitate out of it.

He mean's pour it out as carefully as you can so the brown powder will not pour out. The brown powder is gold.

Siphoning the AP may be preferable. Just remove as much of the liquid as possible without disturbing the powder on the bottom.