dropping out gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geonorts

i am new to refining and this forum. I am aware of the many ways to drop gold out of Aqua regia but I need to know if sodium hydrogen sulphate will work as I have instructions that say to use hydrogen sulphate. my only other feasible option is oxalic acid but i know that is a bit more complicated

please help

Why don't you have other options? One of them is dead easy and can be made at home if necessary. You can usually buy ferrous sulfate from garden supply stores, and it's an excellent precipitant.

Sorry, can't comment on your choice of precipitant----I have no experience in that regard.

Harold

what can be made at home? Would it be possible to make enough SO2 and bubble it through as its made using sulphur or my sodium hydogen sulphate?

Geonorts,

Perhaps you can go down to Kmart tomorrow and get yourself a few small tubs of Sodium Metabisulphite in the homebrew section and use this instead. It must be Metabisulph "i" te and not Metabisulphate. I think their in small 250g or 500g containers with an orange colored label. Dissolve enough, usually 2.5g of the sodium if you expect 2g of gold in say 150-200ml warm water and pour into your gold solution. You must neutralize your AR solution with Urea first though...

geonorts said:
what can be made at home? Would it be possible to make enough SO2 and bubble it through as its made using sulphur or my sodium hydogen sulphate?
Ferrous sulfate. Dissolve scrap steel in sulfuric acid, then use the (filtered) solution to recover gold, or buy the crystals from a garden supply store, as I said.