gold will not precipitate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angel0o

hi, im new to recovering gold, I read, watch videos, get the acids and safety gear. I got my hands to nitric acid 42 Be 68%, hydrochloric acid 20 Be 32%. I separate gold pins from CPUs and cell phones as cleaned as possible, in a glass coffee containet with the gold pins I added nitric acid 42 Be 68%, I waited until there was no more reaction, collected the remaining gold flakes with a filter wash it with purified water, in a clean glass container with the gold flakes filtered and clean as possible I added
aqua regia one part nitric acid, three parts hydrochloric acid, I let it react overnight, then I will add urea to neutralize the nitric acid until there is not more reaction, I added purified water and then when I add sodium sulfite, it starts foaming and a red orange foam starts forming but it disolves into the solution again, then I'll add more sodium sulfite and I get the same reaction, red and white foam, I followed the same directions as it's described and I get the same reaction, what I noticed the nitric acid changed to yellowish color, I used stannous chloride to detect gold and I get a light purple color in a cotton swab, this is my firs post and my first fail in gold refining, any help will he greatly appreciated. by the way, im a cell phone and computer tech and I love to collect stones and gold and silver and other precious metals, im aware of the money currency and from time to time read about the money market.

angel0o,
Welcome to the forum.

You have made the same mistake most of us have, before we found this forum, (and spent many hours to learn this science of how to properly recover and refine precious metals).