Help With Vacuum Pump

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BRC1

I’m pretty new to PM refining and just purchased a $80 vacuum pump for my Büchner funnel for obvious reason. The issue is that the thing has already seized up due to what I can only assume is corrosion after one full run extracting gold from GF material. Is there a way to keep this from happening. I know there’s lab anti corrosion vac pumps for big $, but don’t want to spend that.. TIA!

If you set up a Buchner with lye solution in then add the line from the vacuum into the Buchner which is sealed on the top with a rubber bung and a line out to your filter flask that should keep most of the corrosive fumes away from your pump, also do not set your pump up inside your hood as the fumes will still wreck it fairly fast .

Easiest is a plastic venturi pump.
If you don't have access to mainline water, just use a cheap waterpump to pump water from a keg/barrel/bucket in a way that eject the water back into the same reservoir.
No water use and nothing becomes fumed down.
And if there is a spillover either by accident or co drag, no problem it is all in the bucket.

Easiest is a plastic venturi pump.
If you don't have access to mainline water, just use a cheap waterpump to pump water from a keg/barrel/bucket in a way that eject the water back into the same reservoir.
No water use and nothing becomes fumed down.
And if there is a spillover either by accident or co drag, no problem it is all in the bucket.