I'm new

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmethowusa

Hi All;

I'm a newbie and am currently trying to figure what's happening with a test silver dissolving situation I'm in. I put 150 ml of nitric in a beaker and added 1 oz of old beat up silver coins. It is being heated but I am seeing no exciting dissolving. It's been about an hour and the coins look newer but undissolved. The nitric went from clear to a slight yellowish tint. Could someone tell me what I should be expecting?

I'm a newbie and am currently trying to figure what's happening with a test silver dissolving situation I'm in. I put 150 ml of nitric in a beaker and added 1 oz of old beat up silver coins. It is being heated but I am seeing no exciting dissolving. It's been about an hour and the coins look newer but undissolved. The nitric went from clear to a slight yellowish tint. Could someone tell me what I should be expecting?

Something is very wrong. It should have dissolved by now, with great vigor and brown fumes. How strong is the nitric? Which coins? Need more detail.

I deleted your other post because it was identical to this one. Duplicate posting is not necessary. Don't worry, we'll see the first one.

I bought the nitric from a chemical supplier in Houston. It's 70% nitric. I got 2.5 liters for 47+ tax. I kept failing with potassium nitrate, and the expense of messing with the nitrate, sulfuric, etc. made $50 look pretty good.

The coins are supposedly 80 - 90% silver. I do have a small sterling bracelt I could throw in there as well.