melting gold jewellery

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

hi all

i buy a fair bit of gold jewellery from various sorces in the uk, at present im taking into a scrap merchants thats giving me 97.5% of spot for clean and hallmarked gold (no stones and so on)

i know that some of the gold i take in he pays me as 9ct but some is 12ct and so on, is it worth melting my own before i take it in to the scrap guy to get the total ammount of gold ct out of my jewellery.

if so what methods would be easiest as i have no knowledge at all about melting or refining. what equipment would be needed.

i have looked at the Shor Internationals machine and that looks best at the moment but i would like any help like - links , photos and so on

please try and explain in newbie terms as i say im no alchemist.

many thanks

Gary,
I wouldn't melt it in order to sell it.
If you melt it you don't have the
hallmarks and he may even try to
get it cheaper. If you get into refining
the gold that is another story. Just check
out the forum and take it all in and then
ask questions if you have any.
Jim

hi

thanks for the reply - if i were to melt it i would still get the 97.5% of spot they would just have to assay it first before payment is made.

my main thought is would i gain much extra (carat wise) in melting first and taking it in a more pure form.

i scrap about 300gms a week so there could be a fair ammount of loss - i read that it can be as much as 33% - this is whats got me thinking about melting / refining first

again any help would be great

You won't gain anything karat wise by just melting it.
Refining it is a different story, but you have to check
out this forum and see if you are prepared to get
involved in doing it yourself.
Jim