Nickel/copper in gold?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

futurama140

Hi everyone, I'm new to recovering/refining gold. I've been reading as much as I can and lurking here, but the sheer amount of info here is daunting and I don't know exactly what to look for.
So here is my problem:
On my most recent batch of partially plated non-ferrous pins (I assume the BM inside is nickel) I believe I may have been hasty and pulled the foils from the CuCl2 a day or two early, leaving small amounts of BM in the center of some of the foils. I tried melting it down but the chunk was way too big for my ghetto setup (2100o fire brick and cheap butane bernzomatic from home depot) so after over an hour the chunk had not melted down.

Eventually, i managed to heat the chunk and clip it into smaller pieces, and after like 40 minutes on each small piece they will melt. Now the problem is the ridiculously long melt time on the little blobs with BMs in them now. If i manage to heat the blobs long enough, the swirling blob has little spikes (i assume of BMs) sticking out.

Is there any way i can easily recover my 20k gold? the small amount of BMs in the middle of the blobs obviously wont be removed by CuCl2.

I thought about just heating it until the stuff I dont want just floats to the top, then cool it and throw it into the CuCl2 until those parts dissolve, then repeat that process until the gold is clean. but that could take weeks and LOTS of propane.

I appreciate any help. And I appologize if this issue has been covered elsewhere.

Not to nit pick... But, AP is copper (II) chloride, or CuCl2.

And why did you not refine the gold? Seems as if you just partially recovered it.

Much to learn, grasshopper.

Download hoke, take the guided tour, read the general reaction list. The more you study, the less gold you'll lose (i promise).

:D