Noob Question

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello All. New to this site and I must say it is very cool! Never knew there was so much gold in so many things. I have searched and read this site until cross-eyed but cant quite find the answer I need. I have read Mr. Hokes advice as well as other info on this site. I thought I was close but the thread changed.I am not very good at chemistry either. I have a lot of remnant hot stamping foil. It was made by M. Swift company and is marked "Flawless"(or at least some of it is). Their website tells me it is either 22k or 24k pure. I'm guessing it was made by the vacume/sputtering method. I can get it off of the Mylar carrier by soaking for a few minutes in rubbing alcohol. When I do so I end up wuth the goop I have attached pictures of. Looks like brown sludge with sparkles. My question is this. How do I get rid of the impurities, which should only be the adhesive used in manufacturing the film??? I am sort of scared of acids/chemicals but will try. Will cooking in lye give me the desired results?? I do not want to waste anyones time so if I am overlooking something on this site just let me know and I will go back and look some more. Thanks in advance for any tips you can offer or point me to. Also would be nice to hear if I am wasting my time. Thoses little gold sparkles sure are pretty! I dont intend to be a full time recycler, just out of work and trying to stay afloat at the moment,, it sure looks fun though.
Thanks
Piglet80
p.s. Cant upload the photo, will go to the help section for advice and send later.

Can you describe what you've done accurately.
you can post photos, list your scrap and the used chemicals.