Precipitating Gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DionSukhram6

I'm pretty new to gold refining, so I was practicing by trying to dissolve some gold leaf in a mixture of HCl and hydrogen peroxide. I was able to successfully do so and then tried to precipitate it. I dissolved some SMB in water and added it but the solution just turned a lighter yellow and there was no precipitate, so I was wondering why this might happen. Thank you!

Hello, welcome yo the forum.

Did you do a stannous test?

The smb is sodium metabisulfite, do you have that or sodium metabisulfAte?
If the former, woft a little of its odor to your nose. Does it smell good? Then its gone bad, if it smells terrible, then its good still.

If you test with stannous after adding smb, the SO2 will give a false positive if you overdosed it, giving brownish result on the test.

As Patnor stated there is little real gold leaf around most is just brass, the other possibility is you still have excess oxidiser so the gold will not precipitate until you have neutralised it.

You didn't mention how much gold leaf you dissolved. Since this was practice, I'm guessing you only dissolved a sheet / few sheets. Gold leaf is extraordinary thin. A single ounce of gold can be beaten into 100 square feet of leaf. So if you only dissolved a small amount, and assuming it was true gold leaf, it may be difficult to see the precipitate.

Give us an idea of how much leaf you dissolved and we can give you an idea of what you might expect.

Dave

If that was gold leaf you bougt in vials, there is no gold to drop. I had 5 vials of gold leaf i bougt when I first started to get interested in refining. I figured out right after that it was probably fake, and did not refine it.
I found them again a year ago, and to confirm my suspicion i dropped it all in nitric. The result was pooof!
The gold leaf was gone..

Jon