processing a failed batch

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hey everyone. I'm new to gold refining and have some questions.

I came upon this project when my uncle asked if I could try and recover the gold from some DSL equipment racks he pulled from an apartment building.

I started with a google search and found Shor International before having problems and then finding this site. I've read this forum extensively and the next time I do this I'll be much better informed. I'd like to thank the forum for that!

here is what I've done so far.

I removed all the gold plated fingers from the cards (approx 100 cards) and removed all the connector pins from the boards, jumpers, the boards on the back of the racks and all the cables) I don't know how much it all weighed but it was a dense volume of pins and fingers that filled about 3/4 of a 1/2 gallon container.

I then dissolved Shore's SubZero nitric acid substitute (1/2 lb) to 1/2 gallon of muriatic acid and then add the scrap to the bath with a plastic mesh bag. there was some plastic although I was careful to remove most of it.

The reaction was slow at first and the slowly started to dissolve the metals. I did this in my garage at ambient temp between 55 and 60 deg. the solution warmed up and continued to dissolve for two days. when the solution no longer bubbled and lost temp I removed the bag of scrap and decanted then filtered the solution.

I Now have two containers. One with a clear (no murkiness) cola colored solution and one with the scrap (mostly all the pins and fingers were dissolved but there was still some visible gold leaf) and residue from decanting and filtering.