Question

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kole55

hello.I posted a post with this material before. I removed the metal parts from the pins, I also cut off the caps from the transistor, but I couldn't remove all the metal caps, the hoop remained and some caps as seen in the picture. Now the question: put it in the AP.since I work in the field it has stood in the AP for two months without interference. the material looks as if all the gold has been removed from the material but it is not there. i guess there is a lot of ferric chloride in the solution that squeezed the copper out of the solution and “glued” it to my material. whether that is so or the material is bad. i did a lot of pins in the AP and so far it hasn't been like this. thanks in advance for every comment and experience.file.jpgfile (2).jpg

I once put pins with some more reactive metal (iron?) parts mixed in between in AP and it covered all surfaces with copper fast. Including fully plated pins.
I guess that was because of the electric contact between the plated pins.
It left behind iron chloride which dissolved the iron and later all the cemented copper and pins. Just give it some time.
I dont know if these caps are made of stainless steel and how that reacts to AP. I guess that's inert to AP.
Maybe test one cap in some nitric?
Martijn.