Rookie in need of help plz

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arekkusu28

Im new at this. I jumped the gun before doing more research on what steps I need to take and in what order. You read and hear different things from different sources. I put about 150+ grams of gold plated computer pins directly into aqua regia. Obviously all the metals are dissolved but i'm curious if I can still precipitate just the gold using SMB after neutralizing the acid or because other metals are present probably copper and possibly nickle do I need to get those other metals out before precipitating the gold?

I did this and it turned almost black. After denoxing the nitric I precipitated and got gold powder back. Granted I may have lost values, but I did reclaim gold chloride. I then washed it in hot hcl and it came out to 1.1gram.

myfalconry76 said:
I did this and it turned almost black. After denoxing the nitric I precipitated and got gold powder back. Granted I may have lost values, but I did reclaim gold chloride. I then washed it in hot hcl and it came out to 1.1gram.

Gold chloride is when gold is dissolved into solution, ar/hcl+bleach...even peroxide and hcl, create gold chloride. After it is precipitated, it is then gold metal. Yes, it doesnt look like gold, but it is. You can take your powder and press it hard between a porcelain spoon and dish and see gold powder turn shiney like everyone is used to seeing gold.

And OP, test your solution, then smb, then throw in a copper bus bar.

Edit to add, denox with sulfamic, urea causes problems if there are pgms or if you are too heavy handed with it. Sulfamic does double duty.

Getting rid of base metals is always your best bet

Topher_osAUrus said:
myfalconry76 said: