Safety Equipment

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YEMX2098

I'm a beginner at refining and of course I've made a few mistakes my first time. Actually in still in the process of trying to locate my gold in the process. But I'll cover that in another tread. My most important concern at this time is trying to figure out how much expose I received from HCL vapors. While I was filtering my solution after I let the SMB do it's job overnight, for some reason got a big chlorine( which I assume is the HCL) like smell in my mask. It went away but I stopped after a few more minutes because I started feeling light headed. I went for a walk in fresh air but felt a little drunk. The symptoms confirmed that I got exposed to toxic vapors obviously. It's been hours and I can't get that smell and taste of chlorine out my senses...
So here is my question. How the heck was I able to inhale the fumes when I was wearing my mask? Second question. To make sure I didn't screw up and get the wrong type of canister for my mask, what is the proper filter / canister needed for working with HCL, NA, Aqua Regia and the other chemicals associated with gold refining? At the moment I'm not using Nitric Acid but instead using a substitute from a company called JSP. Sorry about the typos and spelling but I have a headache and have a cute nausea while writing this.

First, go to a hospital and get yourself checked out.

A mask should never be your first line of defense against toxic fumes. They are a last resort in case there is an accident.

As you have learned the hard way, masks are not perfect. They have a limited capacity, regardless of the type. Once they've filtered to their maximum capacity, the fumes will get by. A fume hood is needed for this type of work.

I hope you recover from this exposure.

Dave