Seperate gold from metal in melted dental scrap

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi,I would greatly appreciate any help or advice in finding a solution to the following.I recently purchased a 80g ingot of dental scrap that had been melted down into the ingot.I had the ingot tested via scanner and it's gold content was very low due to the excess metal that had been melted also into the ingot ( bridges etc ).You can clearly see the yellow gold though alot of White metal that I presume could be titanium surrounds it.I was wondering if there is a way to seperate them,I thought by remelting the gold may settle at the bottom being the heavier metal.Forgive my ignorance I'm new to whole refining scene ( this is my 1st attempt to be honest ) thanks in advance.

It is strange that you have separate colors so I would guess your melt was incomplete. However it would be even stranger still to ever have your gold settle out.

Once alloyed the separation needs to be done chemically. If you are not up to this yourself there are members here that do this very sort of work on a percentage basis. If you want to learn you're in the right place.