Silver Boards

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nicknitro

Hi all,

Just looking for some help finding threads on tackleing some old computer boards with a lot of silver plating and silver solder. I have little experience with silver, and from most of the threads I have read it seems like silver is pretty hard to seperate when mixed with other base metals.
I also have little sympathy for the old computer collectors, as with any precious commodity, the less there is the more valueable the rest becomes.

My base plan for attack would be to try and depopulate the boards the best I can. then I would try to identify any ferrous materials in the mix of melted solder / silver, removing large masses. Next , I would take the depopulated boards and any clean solder and place them in a 35% solution of nitric.

There will be lead compounds and probably Tin , mixed with the Silver Nitrate. Will they be filterable after Converting to Silver Chloride with salt?

Then ammonia to convert / "drop out?" Silver Metal.

This process is only going from recollection from other threads of silver refining. And again I'm mostly looking for help finding pertinant threads for dealing with these types of scrap boards.

I have also heard of many threads on silver cells for sterling silver as well. But they allude me when searching. Seems search will pull out newest threads with any mention of the search words.

Any help is appreciated, and thanks in advance. If interested in swaps, the boards are from an early Texas Instruments 99 model, it is complete, no power supply or RF just base unit silver colored. I prefer gold fingers, however the gold to silver value is pretty lopsided so I don't know if it would be worth it to anyone.

Can't wait to hear the replys to this one, LOL, No Lynching please.

Nick

nicknitro said: