Some of the common IC types and what's in them.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brett Novak

Supporting Member
Since this question comes up all the time, I figured I could lend some insight. I've worked in the semiconductor industry for 20+ years for the companies that make these devices, so I have some insider knowledge and can debunk some myths as well.

So let's start off with this. Note that I am EXCLUDING Pentiums, enough has been done on those.

20230815_103222.jpg

Sorry my chicken scratch is hard to read, but this is a good snapshot of the "majority" of IC packages you will find. Not all, but the common ones.

Top to bottom:

CERDIPs - CERAMIC Dual In Line Package - Some of mine are the Gold heavy test chips - average weight is 5G with 0.5G recoverable gold per device. These are hard to find but are, well, a gold mine. Especially with the "lid" these will produce a nice clean gold solution in AR. The gold ones are pretty easy to spot, but there are Tin leaded versions as well. Most if not all of the ceramic ones are gold bond wires, but you have to get to it. I personally think that CERDIPS are the easy to work with - just torch them, crush them, wash them, then into the AR. They do produce dark AR so you need to clean it a bit, but nothing gets stuck togethor.