Wannabe gold miner

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mick Tee

Hi,
I am an electrician with a goal of getting into metal casting jewellery and trinkets when my life quietens down a little. As a stepping stone towards this end, I am playing with electroplating which has reintroduced me to my arch-nemesis from school: chemistry.

My current plan is to learn processes in a way that I can build upon that learnin'

First step - electroplate 3D prints.
Sidetrack #1 - devising a carbon based conductive paint that would actually work better than the DIY stuff out there which I haven't tested properly because of:
Sidetrack #2 - stumbling upon an exciting new means of preparing botanicals for electroplating which I haven't tested properly because I had to pack my shed up due to a house move. I have not unpacked yet because of:
Sidetrack #3 - a novel additional step at the end of the sidetrack #2 process that may allow the electroless plating of silver directly to botanicals.

Second step - Turn this stupid gold mine into a profitable venture. Went in all naïve and keen and the red tape and a comical run of bad luck said "Not today". Hopefully the thing comes good, as the gold we have pulled out is over 95% pure, with the bulk of the rest being silver. So now I am back in the 9-5 waiting for the right time to present itself so I can throw all my papers in the air and storm out saying "So long, Suckers!"

Third step - Use my metal casting skills to cast stupid things out solid gold for the LOLz. I mean. it's all going to go to the mint anyway so who cares if it is cast as a bar, a lego minifig, chopsticks, or a golf ball?

So here I am, researching Sidertack #3 and trying to understand just enough chemistry to work out the easiest and cheapest way to test if the process works. (And no, don't ask as I am keeping this close to my chest for now)