Why is my gold turning black during plating?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pete_1972

Hi Folks,

I'm a total newbie who has just purchased a gold plating kit as a hobby :p

For my first experiment I did the old "copper coin connected to the cathode" test which resulted in a nice shiny golden coin.

However, I then left the coin in for a further 20-30 minutes only to find that, instead of the gold plating getting better, parts of the coin were now turning black.

I rubbed some polish over the coin and the cloth started turning black.

Did I somehow burn the gold? My voltage was a constant 6V.

Can't seem to find the answer anywhere, but I'm sure one of the guys on this forum will know :mrgreen:

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Pete

pete_1972 said:
Hi Folks,

I'm a total newbie who has just purchased a gold plating kit as a hobby :p

For my first experiment I did the old "copper coin connected to the cathode" test which resulted in a nice shiny golden coin.

However, I then left the coin in for a further 20-30 minutes only to find that, instead of the gold plating getting better, parts of the coin were now turning black.

I rubbed some polish over the coin and the cloth started turning black.

Did I somehow burn the gold? My voltage was a constant 6V.

Can't seem to find the answer anywhere, but I'm sure one of the guys on this forum will know :mrgreen:

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Pete

Pete,

I'm not surprised at what happened.