Gold Recovery Help(Sodium Bisulphite not doing its thing)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Innos

Hello everyone,first post here,sorry its a cry for help...

As the title suggests,Ive added 25 grams of sodium bisulphite in aqua regia that consisted of 600 ml of water and 600 ml of hcl(33%) and about 20 ml of nitric acid.

This is my first attempt at a gold recovery process so the amounts and possibly method is off but you can never be sure when it comes to internet info so I sorta winged it.

I boiled it and it dissolved stuff pretty well,especially the gold.

I expect the yield to be between 5-15,but i added 25 grams to be on the safe side.

The "metal eating" process with copper 2 chloride was done pretty well in my very uninformed opinion so I don't think any left over metals are causing an issue,except maybe rhodium or platinum thats also in the solution.

The problem is,nothing is precipitating....please help.

"""But you must add your nitric to HCl in VERY TINY AMOUNTS with plenty of PATIENCE, or you will find it impossible to precipitate the gold out of an excessively-nitric solution.
""""
Is this my problem?its a quote from a forum member.

It very well could be your problem but you really didn't give that good of a description as to what you did to get here.
What was your starting material
Do you use heat to put your gold in solution
Did you test your solution with stannous chloride
After dissolving your material did you evaporate your solution
We need to know more about your situation before anyone can help you. Also, please use the search function for CM Hokes book as every answer you need is in there and can help you get started while your waiting for replies. Your gold is not going anywhere, just make sure it is in a safe location.