Growing large silver crystals

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

peter i

Harold once posted some pictures of very large and beautiful silver crystals.

How were they grown? I'd love to grow some

(I'm a chemist, I love crystals... can't help it, sorry!)

:D

An elderly friend, now long departed, grew them in an enclosed container in which he had a pointed electrode on one end, with a small anode of silver attached to the other end. I never saw his setup----but we discussed it at length. Unfortunately, he died back in '84, so my memory has dimmed considerably.

Silver will grow crystals if you keep the purity of electrolyte high and limit it's ability to plate out of solution. On rare occasions, a spot in my silver cell would grow a few that were large enough to save, although I don't recall that I saved any of them aside from maybe one. They were not large, perhaps fingernail size at best, but my objective was to purify silver, not to grow large crystals.

Incidentally, when you operate a silver cell, it becomes obvious that the silver grows as crystals, albeit small ones. It appears to me that if you limit area, you'll get nothing but large crystals, but I don't know that.