Producing Fine Silver Powder

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmquigley

This is my first post on the forum and it was suggested by Gold Silver Pro to pose my questions here; GSP has been extremely helpful to date. I am new to refining. I am trying to develop a hybrid method to cast my silver figurines. The silver I have access to has purity issues and I would like to refine it so I can produce very fine silver powder of 20 microns of less. Does anyone have a refining method or methods that will allow me to control particle size and consistently produce this very fine silver powder? Thank you.

dmquigley said:
This is my first post on the forum and it was suggested by Gold Silver Pro to pose my questions here; GSP has been extremely helpful to date. I am new to refining. I am trying to develop a hybrid method to cast my silver figurines. The silver I have access to has purity issues and I would like to refine it so I can produce very fine silver powder of 20 microns of less. Does anyone have a refining method or methods that will allow me to control particle size and consistently produce this very fine silver powder? Thank you.

Dissolve it in nitric acid, drop it with salt and convert it to silver metal with water, sulfuric acid and a piece of steel. This should give you what you are looking for.

Here's a copy of the email I sent to dmquigley yesterday. He wants to make a metal clay mixture (of which he already has a formula for) with the powder and, evidently, the particle size is important. He wants it to be sub-20 micron. I didn't suggest using a metal, such as iron, to reduce the silver because I didn't know how iron contamination would affect the final product.